Is it rude to sleep with your mouth full?

This is how pathetic I am:  Last night, it was late, really late, and I was tired. I had been planning on making a salad all day, but it always seems like such a lot of work, so I had been putting it off. At this point I thought I’d better do it before the lettuce went bad and at least I would have it all ready when I got hungry the next day. So I made this beautiful salad with crisp lettuce, spinach, red pepper, slivered almonds, croutons, cucumber and cherry tomatoes from my garden, some dried blueberries, and a sprinkle of grated cheese. It looked so good, I had to have a small bowl right there. I drizzled some EVOO and balsamic vinegar on it and sat down at the table to eat it. I remember the first couple of bites only.

The next thing I remember was waking up, then lifting my head up out of the little salad bowl on the table in front of me. Yup, my face was actually IN THE BOWL!  And the bowl was empty, except for two little blueberries.  I would not have left those blueberries had I been awake. So now my question is did I finish the salad before falling asleep or did I fall asleep first and continue to eat the salad until my head fell into the bowl?

Of course this isn’t the first time I’ve fallen asleep while eating.  But in prior episodes, I did not finish my meal. Once, I was sitting in the recliner chair watching The Colbert Report and I had a nice bowl of chocolate ice cream.  I probably should have just gone to bed, but I felt I deserved a treat first.  Imagine my horror and disappointment when I awoke to find the entire bowl of melted ice cream had tipped over in my lap.  Well, I didn’t really need all those calories anyway, but talk about wasting food!

These days I’m eating healthier — and I’ve lost 25 pounds so far (shout out to Weight Watchers).  WW has taught me about substituting healthy foods for unhealthy ones and changing habits that make you gain or retain extra pounds.  For example, everyone has heard that you shouldn’t eat fattening foods, like ice cream, late at night, right?  Well, prior to last night, I interpreted that to mean that it was alright to eat late at night, as long as it wasn’t something fattening.  Hence, the event that shall be forever known as The Salad Incident.

2 responses to “Is it rude to sleep with your mouth full?

  1. Pingback: Liebster Awards! | lobestir

Leave a Reply

